Nominations for the ORCA Prize

Nominations for the 2024 ORCA Prize can be submitted via Deadline to do so is 15 January 2024 23:59 CET. This prestigious prize is given to individuals, groups or organizations in recognition of their outstanding contributions to matters concerning dental caries. Only ORCA members can make nominations for the prize, but nominees do not need to be ORCA members. Moreover, there are no restrictions for nominations with respect to age or seniority, and persons who have previously been nominated unsuccessfully can be renominated.

The main qualification is the nominee’s impact in cariology. This can be: original research work in cariology; the promotion of caries research; the implementation of cariology into practice; and major contributions to oral health with special respect to caries. In line with the breadth of research presented at ORCA congresses, we extend cariology to include other hard tissue disorders. The prize committee will evaluate a broad range of parameters including societal and scientific impact.


2023 Awardee: Sue Higham

Sue Higham








Sue Higham has been a leading cariology researcher for many years.  Her strengths lie not only in her scientific approach, but also in her mentorship and supervisory capacity where she has supported many students (44 postgraduates), of whom many are now senior ORCA members and Chairs at UK and International Universities.  Sue’s ability to share ideas, provide constructive and thoughtful feedback has been recognised by all who have worked with her.  In addition to her clear contribution to the science, Sue has also been a significant contributor to the life of ORCA, having not only served on the Board for 12 years but also organized the Liverpool ORCA meeting in 2013 which was a great success.

Sue got her degree of Bachelor of Science in Biological Sciences (microbiology and biochemistry) with Upper Second Class Honours at Manchester Polytechnic in 1983.  Subsequently she got in 1986 the degree of Doctor in Philosophy, at the University of Liverpool with a thesis entitled: Studies in the relationships between pH carbohydrate and nitrogen metabolism in human dental plaque, under the supervision of Professor Mike (W M) Edgar.

In January 1987 she started as Research Fellow in Professor Edgar's laboratories in the Department of CLinical Dental Sciences at The University of Liverpool  and progressed steadily in her career: 1991 Lecturer in Oral Biology, 1999  Senior Lecturer in Oral Biology and 2003 Professor of Oral Biology IPHS & School of Dentistry University of Liverpool.

Throughout her career  she paid attention to the three pillars of a university position. She  regards her role as a University Teacher as someone able to facilitate undergraduates and postgraduates, to realise their full potential in learning activities through a combination of larger group didactic and small group seminar/tutorial based teaching methods. She has served many committees within the Faculty and Dental School. Her research has covered a range of physiological and biochemical aspects of oral biology with particular application to cariology and preventive odontology, which has led to over 350 published chapters, articles and abstracts.  She has led an active research group, which has developed an international reputation in dental research.  She has been able to translate her original, scientifically-based ideas into realistic practical projects, which have involved clinical staff and fostered valuable links.

ORCA Prize Past Awardees

2024 Not ORCA Prize but Ingve Ericsson Prize was awarded
2023 Sue Higham
2022 Not ORCA Prize but Ingve Ericsson Prize was awarded
2021 Alexandre Vieira
2020 Eric Reynolds
2019 Not ORCA Prize but Ingve Ericsson Prize was awarded
2018 Gerald L Vogel
2017 Cor van Loveren
2016 Not ORCA Prize but Yngve Ericsson Prize was awarded
2015 Cynthia Pine
2014 David Beighton
2013 Not ORCA Prize but Yngve Ericsson Prize was awarded
2012 Jaime Cury
2011 Peter Shellis
2010 Not ORCA Prize but Yngve Ericsson Prize was awarded

Recipients of the ORCA/Zsolnay Prize

2009 Adrian Lussi
2008 Helen Whelton
2007 George Stookey
2006 Brian Clarkson
2005 Nigel B Pitts
2004 Jorman Tenovuo
2003 Denis O'Mullane
2002 John DB Featherstone
2001 Bente Nyvad
2000 Jaap J ten Bosch

Recipients of the ORCA/Rolex Prize

1999 B. Angmar-Mansson
1998 D. Geddes
1997 W.M. Edgar
1996 A. Rugg-Gunn
1995 H. Luoma
1994 G.N. Jenkins
1993 G. Bowden
1992 G.M. Whitford
1991 P.D. Marsh
1990 K.W. Stephen
1989 C. Dawes
1988 O. Fejerskov
1987 J.P. Carlos
1986 J.M. ten Cate
1985 J. Ekstrand
1984 G. Rolla
1983 F. Brudevold
1982 C. Robinson
1981 J. Arends
1980 H. Held
1978 J. Patz
1977 W.H. Bowen
1976 G.S. Ingram
1975 J.A. Beeley
1974 T. Mikx
1973 L.M. Silverstone
1972 B. Guggenheim
1971 C. Cimasoni
1970 J.M. Birkeland
1969 Y. Ericsson
1968 J.A. Weatherell
1967 S.A. Leach, W.G. Armstrong
1966 A. Boyde, T.M. Marthaler
1965 J.E. Eastoe
1964 K.G. König, H. Schule, R.J. Gibbons